Thoughts on NEVER Giving Up

…by packaging Success with Virtue, we make a failure a moral defeat. And rather than risk such failure, the less daring now take it to be the part of wisdom to sit it out in the booths and the bars. They do not wish to commit themselves, they are reluctant, in this sick air, to let themselves be engaged. Not realizing that the only true defeat is to be capable of playing a part in the world, and playing no part at all.
Nelson Algren, Nonconformity

The reason you got scared and quit is because you felt too damn important… Feeling important makes one heavy, clumsy, and vain. To be a man of knowledge one needs to be light and fluid.
Don Yuan to Carlos Castaneda, A Separate Reality

The enemy, then, is to be found in one’s own mind, it is cowardice…once she overcame her doubts and fears, she attained her birthright, her self. Then no official, no army, no empire could stop her from going where she pleased.
Alexandra David Neel, Forbidden Journey

Walk Straight on Following Your Heart’s Desire.
Motto on Alexandra David Neel‘s French Medal, from Ecclesiastes

Even in that deep misery I felt my energy revive, and I said to myself, in spite of everything I shall rise again—I will take up my pencil, which I have forsaken in my great discouragement, and I will go on with my drawing.
Vincent Van Gogh

You miss 100% of the shots you never make.
Wayne Gretzky

Leave a comment